Happy Hooker

Quite a few years ago I decided I wanted to learn how to crochet.  I was maybe 16 years old and thought it would be a good hobby to pick up.  I grabbed a couple books from the library (this was before people really went to youtube to learn how to do any and every thing!), got some yarn and a hook, and tried to learn.  Turns out, I created my own technique, which is not in fact how one actually crochets, but I was able to make scarves, nonetheless.  Though they weren’t very pretty.  A few years after that, one of my aunts was visiting and she taught me the correct way to crochet… it was much easier (and prettier!) to do it that way!  For years I only made scarves and only knew about 2 stitches.  Then I decided it was time to branch out, and I made an effort to learn how to read patterns and actually make things that were not only useful, but gorgeous!  Why I waited so long to learn, I have no idea!  I made baby blankets for friends, hats, scarves, bags, even little stuffed animals! 

Here and there I considered also learning how to knit.  I would give it a try from time to time, but I just couldn’t figure it out… it seemed so much harder than crocheting.  With crochet, you only have to worry about one hook and one loop at a time… knitting, you have to hold on to two things, and there’s way more loops!  Last fall though, I decided I would take a class and finally learn how to knit!  It was a 5-week course, for 2 hours each week, and sure enough, I was finally able to learn some basics! 

Image

^My vey first-ever knitting project!

Image

^We also learned how to cable, which was really neat (and not really hard!)

There’s no denying that knit items are beautiful, they definately are… but they just take SO much longer than crochet does, to me!

Image

I’ve been working on this darn thing for several weeks (I’m farther along than this now, but not anywhere near being done!)  Again, definately very pretty, but so time consuming!  Crochet, on the other hand, I feel like I can get beautiful results in a much shorter amount of time!  Yesterday, for example, I pumped out this beauty in just a few hours:

Image

I’ll probably still knit from time to time, but I’ve decided that crochet is really just more my thing!

One thought on “Happy Hooker

Leave a Reply

