Going the Distance

A couple years ago, I got this beauty for my birthday:

I pined for this bike for weeks, maybe months.  A pink Schwinn cruiser.  It was exactly what I wanted.  But then I got it, and I used it a few times, and then it sat for a long time.

Until recently! 

The weather in Central Illinois in mid-march is usually still pretty cool.  It’s not uncommon to have snow this late in the year sometimes.  But this year, not the case.  We’ve had record-breaking temps in the mid-eighties for about a week now!  It’s unbelievable!  I’m glad it’s not snow, but I miss SPRING!    Anyway, it’s provided some lovely evening opportunities for Eddie and I to ride our bikes for a little while after dinner!  We’ve only done this a half a dozen times maybe, but I think our progress has been great!

The first time we rode, we rode for about 20 minutes, and only went about 1.3 miles.  Last night we rode 2.3 miles in less than 17 minutes!  I highly recommend the iMapMyRIDE app, which tracks our route, how far we went, how long we rode, etc.  It’s fantastic!  I just turn it on, put it in my pocket, and ride!  It does the rest. 

One of the goals on my 101 in 1001 list is to bike 5 miles.  I don’t think I’ll have any trouble reaching that goal–probably within a month!

Leave a Reply

