Getting Down to Business

Well folks, less than a week til the big day for me.  I will be sleeved on April 30, which at one point seemed like an eternity away, and here we are, 6 days out.  I’ve been on my pre-surgery diet for over a week now, and let me tell you, it’s not the most fun thing I’ve ever done.  Here is a typical day of when/what I eat on the pre-surgery diet.

7-730am: 8 oz glass of milk before leaving for work

830-9am: Banana while at work

11-12pm: Lunch is sometimes kinda iffy, because I have to take clients to lunch sometimes.  On occasion I will just get veggies while we are out, but sometimes I just don’t eat with them and wait until I get back to work.  Today was an eating out day, so I’ll use that as an example.  1 cup beef broth and 1 cup steamed veggies

1-3pm: Atkins Advantage shake and/or an orange.  

5-6pm: 12 oz milk and remaining veggies for the day.  If it was a lunch-out day, that usually means about a cup of steamed veggies.  If it wasn’t a lunch-out day, then it’s 1 3/4 cup steamed veggies.

8-9pm: Atkins Advantage Shake and sometimes a sugar free popsicle

For a grand total of approximately 800 calories and 60 grams of protein.

I’ve gotten past the hunger aspect of the diet, for the most part.  If I get really hungry, I drink water (oh yeah, I’m drinking at least 80 oz, usually 100 oz a day), and if that doesn’t help, then I’ll have some broth or sugar free jello, which helps for a bit.  The worst part it seems is the havoc the diet is having on my belly and bowels.  NOT FUN.  Let’s just say that when you have to go, you have to go NOW.  That, to me, is probably the worst part… the fear of being far from a bathroom!

I have an appointment with my surgeon on Friday afternoon, and I’m looking forward to seeing how much weight I have dropped on the pre-surgery diet.  Then I’ll have the weekend, then one day of work, which will be my liquid diet day, then it’s surgery time!  I’ve never had surgery, so any nerves I have are really just related to the unknown, as far as anesthesia, recovery, pain, etc.  I’m not nervous to actually be sleeved.  I’m ready and excited for the process.  Seeing Eddie go through it has been super helpful to see the process (he is down over 90 pounds now and was sleeved on 2/5/13!).  

This will probably be the last post until post-surgery, so I’ll see you on the flip side!

3 thoughts on “Getting Down to Business

  1. That’s awesome I can’t wait to have mind. 90 lbs is awesome. That diet seems very difficult. Good luck on your surgery.

  2. Carry on, you’re worth it. Will check in w Eddie. Best of good wishes. Very excited and proud of you. Aunt Peg 😉

Leave a Reply

