Life Post-Surgery

I am officially more than two weeks out from surgery.  The first week I dropped a lot of weight, in combination with the weight I dropped on the pre-surgery diet.  About a week out, I was 31 pounds down from pre-surgery.  However, as tends to happen (from what I’ve read) weeks 2-3 are notoriously a “stall” period.  I read a forum called Vertical Sleeve Talk (there’s an iphone app), and other folks that are post-surgery have shared their similar experience.  Even though I know it’s common to have that stall (or even a few pound gain), it’s frustrating!  You feel like you’re doing what you’re supposed to do, you’re eating so little, you’re exercising more than you used to, but nothing’s happening.  But, you just have to keep on trucking, because eventually the stall will go away and the scale will move downward again.  

I track my food intake daily using the My Fitness Pal app on my iphone as well.  My goal is 50-80 g of protein per day.  In the beginning, it was more difficult, but now I do it easily.  I’m also now on the pureed diet, which feels more fulfilling than just the liquids.  Favorites so far have included turkey breast with mashed potatoes and gravy, chili with melted cheese, and a “lasagna” type of baked dish that I made tonight.  More just like lasagna filling, but it was super good!  My average calories are between 600-800 calories per day.  That seems low, but when you’re only able to eat 1/4 cup at a time, it’s difficult to get in much more.  My protein shakes are about 300 of those calories per day.  I see my dietitian at the end of the month, so she will probably have some good feedback for me,which I’ll share here when the time comes!

I don’t really have much pain.  I’m mostly itchy.  My incisions are healing, which is itchy, but then apparently even if you only have baby-fine belly hair (who doesn’t?) they still shave your belly before surgery.  And it’s itchy as hell as it’s growing back.  I do have one incision above my belly button that’s been the hardest to heal.  The location of it is problematic because it’s right where my pants tend to hit, and it still drains a tiny bit as it’s healing.  Hopefully soon it won’t be so open and raw and will heal up nicely!

Well, I think that’s about it for now!  If you have any questions or things you’ve been wondering, don’t be a stranger!  I’m not shy!

2 thoughts on “Life Post-Surgery

  1. Hi Teale, life changing events are very difficult. Hang in there. Pulling for you. I was wondering? We’re you bullied as a kid? I was. I wasn’t fat, but tall for my age w breasts in 6th grade! Good thoughts heading your way!

    • Hi Peggy,
      To answer your question, I wouldn’t say that I was bullied in the sense that kids are bullied today. I never felt in danger or pushed around or anything like that. I experienced name calling throughout school from the “mean boys” but I mostly ignored them and as we got older they tended to lose interest in teasing. I never dreaded going to school due to their behavior or anything like that, which I consider to be fortunate. I recently watched a documentary called “Bully” and what I experienced was nothing compared to those poor kids in that documentary!

Leave a Reply

