Weekend in Photos.

This weekend, the mister and I went to Indiana (and Michigan briefly!) for a little getaway.  We have a hobby called letterboxing (google it!) and were heading up there for an event for people that are into the hobby.  The short version is that letterboxing is a scavenger hunt of sorts.  There are ones that are easy to get, where you just drive by, hop out, and grab the box, or there are ones that you locate while on hikes.  Last year at this event, Eddie and I weren’t physically able to get out and do much of the letterboxing that involved hiking.  We mostly did the quick and easy ones, or just hung around with other boxers at the pavilion.  This year though, we had different plans!  Check out our weekend through some pics that I took!

Image

Here we are waiting to be seated for dinner on Friday night at the Shoreline Brewery in Michigan City, IN.  Going to a brewery, you’d expect lots of beer and bar food, right?  Wrong.  We drank water, and Eddie got the artisan meat & cheese plate, and I got the hummus plate.  And OMG it was all so good!

Image

After dinner, we headed to Washington Park to watch the sunset over Lake Michigan.  Previously, we would have dreaded walking ALLLL the way to the water because of the difficult-to-walk-in sand!  But not this time.  We just walked right out there and enjoyed ourselves and the view!

Image

We also walked on the boardwalk all the way to this lighthouse!  From the beach, you kind of have to climb up onto the boardwalk, which I didn’t think I would physically be able to do.  But guess what?  We both were!  After we walked all the way to the lighthouse, we had to climb down off the taller part of the boardwalk to get on the main sidewalk for the walk back.  You had to climb down a small metal ladder, which I was afraid of & didn’t think I could do.  Well, yet again, I was able to do it!  My body keeps surprising me!

Image

The next day is when we went to the Indiana Dunes State Park.  We chose to do a 3-4 mile loop, then shoot off from that loop and climb one of the dunes.  We would have NEVER attempted that in the past.  You had to climb climb climb, up up up for probably close to a mile to get up here!  But once we made it, the feeling of accomplishment was amazing!  

Image

We were pooped when we got to the top, as you can see… but we did it!!!

Image

After a full day of letterboxing, we would have gone home and taken a nap in the past.  This time though, we went to the hotel, took a dip in the pool, then decided to drive the short distance to Michigan to hit up one of their beaches.  Eddie even taught me how to skip rocks, which I’m getting ready to attempt in this picture.  And can you believe, a full-body picture of me, posted voluntarily (that’s not a progress pic)?  THAT is something that wouldn’t have happened in the past EVER!

Image

Image

A year ago, I would have missed these beautiful Indiana & Michigan sunsets because I wouldn’t have been able to walk all the way out to the beach, let alone stand out there for an extended period of time wading in the water & collecting rocks!  

Image

And you know what else I could do this year when I got tired?  I could sit down on the ground and not be afraid that I wouldn’t be able to get back up!  

Image

So thankful for an amazing weekend with my mister, making memories!

One thought on “Weekend in Photos.

  1. Sounds like a fabulous trip! I didn’t know you went for a LB event! Let me know next time- I’d love to go to one, especially if it is over there again!

Leave a Reply

