Baby-Making Step One

Eddie and I went to see Dr Fay in reproductive medicine today for our consultation. I didn’t know what to expect exactly, but I imagined there would be a review of our history and questions about sex. Other than that, I didn’t really know what it would be like. So, as is common with me, I want to share my journey so that others going through it will be less afraid to share theirs.

So first we met with the doctor. She reviewed the packet of information we had sent in ahead of time regarding our health history, weight loss, past menstrual information, etc. she then gave us an overview of what to expect from here on out. She explained that we would begin with a number of diagnostic tests. For Eddie, that would involve the collection of a “specimen”. Specimen being semen. If his swimmers check out, then his testing is done. If not, he will need further testing. Lucky for him, our clinic allows him to collect at home and bring it in as long as it’s delivered within an hour. For me, testing will begin with blood work and a vaginal ultrasound. These things have to be timed with certain days in the cycle. I am currently during my projected ovulation time. I am testing daily with the at-home ovulation tests. If I do end up seeing a positive ovulation test, then one week after that I will go in to get blood work to check progesterone. It will tell them how well I ovulate. Next, I have to contact them on day 2-4 of my next period for more blood work. They’re checking gobs of stuff here, which is basically just screening me for infertility factors so they get a clear picture of what we are working with. After that, at about day 10 of my next cycle, I will go in for a vaginal ultrasound. Essentially they’re gonna use a wand internally to check out my ovaries and uterus to see if there is evidence of polycystic ovarian syndrome, endometriosis, or any masses or anything that is present that shouldn’t be. Once all those results are back, they will also schedule me for an X-ray procedure of my Fallopian tubes (HSG) to see if they are opening properly. They will inject a little catheter into my cervix and shoot dye in so the doctor can see if they’re functioning normally.

So the doctor gave us alllll that information first, then her nurse practitioner Teresa came in to sort of recap, give more details, and get us scheduled for a couple things. She also gave us information about some genetic testing they do, specifically for cystic fibrosis so that they can be prepared ahead of pregnancy if our chances of having a child with any kind of risks exist. Once we met with Teresa, then we met with Sarah, who deals with insurance coverage. Thankfully Eddie and I have great coverage for infertility treatment. We have to get a pre-auth, but then we are covered for for most stuff for a year until needing to be authorized again. My insurance is an 80/20 plan which means after my deductible is met, I only have to pay 20 percent of the bill, with a max out of pocket for medical of $3000 per year. My prescription coverage also has a max of $2500 a year, so if I need fertility meds that is the most we will have to pay. So essentially $5500 in a year’s time max for us. Our insurance also requires three failed attempts at artificial insemination before we can try IVF. But that’s further down the road, and we will cross that bridge if and when we get there.

It’s exciting to have the ball rolling with this. I was nervous initially but am more at ease with things now and am hoping to get a good picture of where our fertility stands so that we can have a little munchkin of our own running around here one day soon!

One thought on “Baby-Making Step One

Leave a Reply

