We have a timeline!

(I started this before the zombie finger situation arose, so I’m just now getting around to finishing and updating at the end!)

Eddie and I went to MFS on Wednesday to have some testing done.  I had to get infectious disease labs (Eddie will have his done at our home clinic because his insurance doesn’t cover MFS for anything) and also had my uterine cavity study.  As it turns out, I have a cervix that doesn’t like to cooperate, so Dr. Reuter had a challenge getting the catheter through.  The test took about twice as long as it normally would have because she had to try several different styles of catheter.  She said this is one of the reasons they do this study, so that when they go in for the real thing, they know what they are working with!  The test wasn’t too bad, a little uncomfortable and crampy, but as it turns out, my uterus is in good shape for growing a baby!  No surprises, no cysts, nothing out of the ordinary!

While I was having that, Eddie got to do his part down the hall.  We had to pay out of pocket for that, which was $115, but that should be the only thing he will have to pay for at MFS–the rest will fall under my case.  We will get the results of his analysis within a week, but we don’t anticipate any surprises there either, since he had this done a couple years ago and was A-OK.

After our testing, we met with the nurse to discuss what happens from here.  They were very pleased with my weight loss, and I am now less than 15 pounds away from where I need to be for the IVF transfer.  Eddie and I were amazed to hear that within 6 weeks or so, we could potentially be transferring our embryo!  In about 3 weeks, once my next cycle starts, I will start on 2 weeks of oral estrogen.  From there I will get an ultrasound to see how my lining looks.  If it looks good, they will fertilize in the lab and let it grow for 5 days.  Then they will pick the healthiest embryo and we will transfer it into me!  From there I will have to be on intramuscular injections of progesterone oil (this is the part I am looking forward to the least), and then our two week wait begins.  After two weeks we have a blood test to check for pregnancy, and our hope is that the stars will align and we will be expecting!!!  Nothing is a sure thing, of course, but we have hope!

Edit: So this week is the week my cycle should be beginning.  I heard from MFS today that on day 1 I call them to schedule a day 2 ultrasound/blood work.  It’s a bit inconvenient to travel 4 hours round trip to get a quickie ultrasound and lab draw, but we will do what we have to do!  On day 2 is also when I will begin my oral Estrace (estrogen).  I’m expecting a call from the pharmacy that provides the fertility meds sometime today or tomorrow, so that we can get them shipped out and paid for.  I have no idea what the cost is going to be, which makes me a little nervous, but we will do what we have to do!  If you feel compelled to help us out with any part of our journey, there is a link to our fundraiser in the top right corner of the blog!

I’ve got about 10 pounds to go before I’m at my goal weight for transfer, and now that the stressful times have hopefully leveled off, I’m hopeful that I can get that taken care of in the next few weeks!  I’ve joined a weight loss support group that meets weekly, and having the accountability and support has been great!  Plus their scale is more friendly than mine at home is, so that’s a plus too:)  Anyway, that’s the update for now, more to come!

Leave a Reply

